Minerva, powerful sky, behind .jpg

Texas Woman's celebrates faculty, staff excellence

Texas Woman’s University celebrated faculty and staff excellence during the 2023 awards celebration April 20. The ceremony took place on the Denton campus and was livestreamed to the Dallas and Houston campuses.

Award recipients were:


Faculty Awards


Cornaro Award — Jyutika Mehta, PhD, professor, Communication Sciences; director, TWU Stroke Center-Dallas









Mary Mason Lyon Award for Distinguished Junior Faculty — Carter Biggers, DMA, director of bands and associate professor, Music









Humphries Award — Nathaniel C. Mills, PhD, professor, Biology









Distinction in Service — DiAnna Hynds, PhD, professor, Biology









Distinction in Distance Education — Deepani Tennakoon, PhD, lecturer I, Biology









Distinction in Teaching — Tina Gumienny, PhD, associate professor, Biology









Not pictured:

Mary Mason Lyon Award for Distinguished Junior Faculty — Jayne Jennings Dunlap, DNP, assistant clinical professor, Nursing

Innovation in Academia — Juliet Spencer, PhD, director, School of the Sciences and professor, Biology

Distinction in Scholarship (two awards) — Christopher Brower, PhD, associate professor, Biology, and Derek Miketinas, PhD, assistant professor, Nutrition & Food Sciences


Staff Awards


Award of Excellence — Vik Arunkumar, associate director, Residence Life









Outstanding Achievement Award — Ivy Naude, assistant director, marketing events & outreach, College of Business









Outstanding Achievement Award — Rosa Rangel, custodian II, Facilities Management









Feyten-Wick Health & WellBeing Champion — Johnnie Moore, maintenance worker II, Facilities Management









Feyten-Wick Health & WellBeing Champion Suzi Rumohr, science librarian, TWU Libraries



Additional awards presented were:


Presidential Award for Meritorious Service — Nora Sierra, assistant to the vice provost, Institutional Research and Improvement









Distinguished Service to Student Life — Lizabeth Spoonts, clinical professor, Dental Hygiene









Distinguished Service to Enrollment Management — Ruth A. Johnson, PhD, associate dean, Graduate School









Award for Outstanding Contribution to the TWU Libraries — Elaine Cox, senior health sciences librarian II









Not pictured:

Distinguished Service to Student Life — Kathleen Davis, PhD, associate professor, Nutrition & Food Sciences