redbud flowers.jpg

Campuses host Redbud Awards ceremonies

Texas Woman’s University recently presented Redbud Awards to faculty, staff, and students for exemplary performance and dedication to serving others.

Ceremonies were held on both the Denton and Dallas campuses.

Awards presented at the Denton ceremony included:


Outstanding Student Organizations

  • Kappa Epsilon Mu
  • Sigma Gamma Rho
  • Student Union Crew


Outstanding Student Organization Advisors

  • John Beatty, PhD (Chemistry & Biochemistry)
  • Arin Nacis (Student Union)


Emerging Leaders of the Year 

  • Essence Landry
  • Guadalupe Perez Posada
  • Karyme Flores
  • Noah Stephenson
  • Zathzy Romero


Richard Nicholas Outstanding Student Leader of the Year

  • Tanya Lorenza-Lopez
  • Andres “Andy” Andrade
  • Alexa Hoekstra
  • Joshua Meisenbacher
  • Cooper Overton
  • Rebecca Lembrino-Crowe


Horizon Award

  • Maddie Ray
  • Abdullah As Sabir


Hallmark Award

  • Lily Wilson
  • Ashley Tang


Glenda Brock Simmons Service Awards


  • Maya Landgrebe
  • Marisa Martinez
  • Heidi Hastings


  • Helping Hands
  • Student Athletic Advisory Council
  • Sigma Gamma Rho


Campus Leaders with a Heart (Faculty/Staff)

  • Chad Smith, PhD (Communication Sciences)
  • Delaney Farris-Dyer (Center for Student Development)
  • Simone Daniels (Diversity, Inclusion and Outreach)
  • Jessica Burchfield (Student Life)
  • Jennie Wojtaszek (Biology)
  • Nila Ricks, PhD (Social Work)


Campus Leaders with a Heart (Students)

  • Cindy Woods
  • Jasmine Acosta
  • Lauren “LJ” Johnson
  • Jayla Isidore
  • Jayla Jackson
  • McKenna Lynch
  • Krishna Contreras
  • Isabela Uribe


Greek Life Awards

President of the Year

  • Emily Caballero, Sigma Delta Lambda

New Member of the Year

  • Madison Lussier, Sigma Sigma Sigma

Member of the Year

  • Aries Huckaby, Sigma Gamma Rho

Programs of the Year

  • Pillow Talk (Diversity & Inclusion), Alpha Kappa Alpha
  • Cyblebar Fundraiser (Community Service/Philanthropy), Alpha Gamma Delta
  • Prancing Poodles Fitness (Healthy Choices), Sigma Gamma Rho

Advisors of the Year

  • Sierra Lykins, Sigma Sigma Sigma
  • Amanda Wilson, Sigma Gamma Rho


The university-wide tradition known as “The Redbud Awards Festival” began as part of an annual event held during TWU’s Homecoming celebration on the Denton campus. It was expanded to include an event specifically for the Dallas campus in 2011.

Dallas campus recipients were:


Glenda Brock Simmons Service Award 

  • Ellese Garcia


Outstanding Faculty

  • Jennifer Martin, OTD (Occupational Therapy)
  • Mandy Horne (Nursing)


Outstanding Staff

  • Aesha Desai (Student Life)
  • Jerry Wilson (IT Solutions)


Outstanding Student Leaders

  • Marisa Martinez
  • Steven Redding
  • Cooper Overton


Outstanding Student Organization 

  • Leaders Interested in Spanish Translation (LISTA)