Nominations open for Piper Professor award

It’s time to nominate a Texas Woman’s faculty member for the Piper Professor award.

The Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation annually honors 10 professors in the state of Texas for their dedication to the teaching profession and outstanding scientific and scholarly achievement. The primary purpose is to give recognition to the teaching profession rather than to research, publication, administration, or other such related activity; however, those aspects also are reviewed by the selection committee.

TWU may submit only one nomination for the award, and the nominee must be a full-time faculty member. If you would like to nominate a TWU faculty member, submit a paragraph or two detailing why the nominee would represent Texas Woman’s well in this competition, as well as a copy of the nominee’s vita, to by Wednesday, Nov. 2.

Past Piper Professor award recipients from TWU are;

  • Pauline Beery Mack (Household Arts and Sciences), 1959
  • Autrey Nell Wile, (English), 1963
  • Wilma Alene Brown (Nutrition and Food Sciences), 1975
  • A. Elizabeth Taylor (History), 1979
  • Aileene Simpson Lockhart (Dance and Physical Education), 1983
  • Maria Gabriella Miller (Sociology and Social Work), 1993
  • Carole Funk (Educational Administration), 2001
  • Ron French (Kinesiology), 2007
  • Lynda Uphouse (Biology), 2008