TWU_19thAmend_web-3721 - ITWUO.jpg
Cowgirl Museum Director Diana Vela, TWU Chancellor Carine Feyten and Fort Worth Mayor Betsy Price blow out candles on a cake commemorating the 100th anniversary of Texas ratifying the 19th amendment giving women the right to vote.

TWU holds suffrage movement event in Fort Worth

TWU and the Institute for Women's Leadership continued its month-long celebrations commemorating Texas’ ratification of the 19th Amendment at a special reception held Thursday, June 20, at the National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame in Fort Worth. TWU Chancellor Carine Feyten and Fort Worth Mayor Betsy Price spoke at the event in honor of the Woman Suffrage Movement.

On June 28, 1919, the Texas legislature approved a resolution ratifying the 19th Amendment, making Texas the ninth state in the United States and the first state in the South to do so. On August 26, 1920, after three-fourths of the state legislatures approved it, the Secretary of State certified ratification of the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.

TWU has a unique connection to the woman suffrage movement in Texas. Mary Eleanor Brackenridge, Eliza “Birdie” Johnson and Helen Stoddard, who sat on the university’s founding board of regents, were suffragists who championed women’s education and social reform.